Accession 2010.030, 2012.035
Title and Physical Description
Coaldale Mennonite Brethren Church fonds. — 1949-1986. — 8 cm of textual records
Coaldale Mennonite Brethren Church was founded in 1926 in Coaldale, Alberta. The first church was built in 1928, and it was enlarged in 1929 and 1932. By 1939 it was replaced by a larger structure with a seating capacity of 1000. The congregation declined in size in the 1950s and 1960s and moved into a new building in 1971. The 1939 church building was used by a business from 1973 to 1995, and it then became the Gem of the West Museum, operated by volunteers under the supervision of the Town of Coaldale. At its peak, the congregation was an important institution in the town. Its members founded the Coaldale Bible School in 1929, Coaldale Hospital in 1934, and Alberta Mennonite High School in 1946. The language of worship transitioned from German to English in the 1960s.
The records were collected by Helen Toews, a member of Coaldale Mennonite Brethren Church and a volunteer with the Gem of the West Museum
Scope & Content
The fonds consists of the congregation’s self-produced hymn book (1949-1951), yearbooks (1951-1985), constitution (1986), financial report (1986), and a one-page history of Coaldale Mennonite Brethren Cemetery (ca. 1990s)
Source of Supplied Title
Title based on content of fonds
Source of Acquisition
Gift of Helen Toews, 2010-2012
No restrictions on access
1-1 Yearbook, 1955; Membership lists and financial reports, 1951, 1952, 1953, 1954.
1-2 Yearbooks, 1972-1973, 1974, 1975, 1976,1977, 1978, 1979.
1-3 Yearbooks, 1980, 1981, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1985.
1-4 Constitution, 1986
1-5 History of the Coaldale Cemetery.
1-6 Translation of the minues of business meetings, May 23, 1926 to December 1930.
1-7 Coaldale Mennonite Brethren Church Pictorial Directory, 1991.
Accession 2012.011 (filed as 1-1 of Accession 2012.035)
1-1 Copy of church music transcribed to numbers (Ziffern)
1-2 “Kinderharfe”, hymn book with numbers (Ziffern) that belonged to Jacob Friesen.
1-3 Hymnbook of copied material with numbers that belonged to Jacob Friesen, Slawgorod
1-4″Missionscantate” by Etzenmueller – modifed by Peter Wiebe and performed in the Coaldale Mennonite Church in 1931.
Accession 2010.030, 2012.011, 2012.035
The material is in German and English.
Last updated April 2012 – Jim Bowman